Does Chocolate Have Gluten
Does Chocolate Have Gluten

Chocolate is one of those foods that are loved by all and makes you “feelgood”. Your age doesn’t define your affection for them. But unfortunately, your love for them may meet its end when you come to know that your beloved chocolate

But unfortunately, your love for them may meet its end when you come to know that your beloved chocolate might contain gluten, contradicting the labels which most companies have on their products.

Gluten is a protein that is found in plants such as wheat, rye, bulgur, barley, farina and triticale (a cross between wheat and rye).

The gluten-free labels you see on the packages do not assure its purity. This is actually a bad news for all those chocolate lovers who have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity or else you prefer gluten-free diet.

So, The Question Arises Is Chocolate REALLY Gluten-Free?

The purest form of chocolate or unsweetened chocolate is made by liquefying roasted cacao beans. Naturally, cocoa beans are gluten-free. Sweetened chocolate which we consumed today is a combination of cocoa solids, cocoa butter or fat and sugar. All these ingredients make your chocolate tastier and are also glutenfree.

Sadly, pure form of chocolate can also contain traces of gluten if they are not harvested or processed with caution. This is called crosscontamination. If companies manufacture their chocolate bars on the same equipment as liquorice (that contains wheat), it may pick up the trace of gluten.

Furthermore, the chances of your chocolate containing gluten may rise if ingredients such as corn flakes, nougats or fillings are present in your chocolate. Gluten containing other additives which are to be avoided are-

  • Artificial extract or flavour
  • Malt chocolates or Malted Milk
  • Caramel color
  • Modified food starch
  • Dextran or Maltodextrin
  • Malted extract, flavouring or syrup

Gluten is considered as a mixed bag of nutrition, but it may not prove to be healthy if you are IBS sufferer as its consumption can badly affect your intestine. It is also said that gluten has addictive properties which result in unnecessary craving of gluten-containing products. Apart from this, it is also associated with neurological illness. Studies have shown that gluten intake can steer brain-related disorders.

So, next time before having a bite you should consider all these related concerns.

Nevertheless, to take a bite of enjoying your favourite chocolate bar you must carefully read every label. Choose from companies such as – Endangered species, Hain Celestial Group, Nestle, Enjoy Life, Dove, Hershey’s, which provides you with gluten-free chocolates.

Always go for products which are certified by Gluten Free Certification Organization.

Also Read:

Are Lentils Gluten Free?

Does Peanut Butter have Gluten?

Dummies’ Guide to Gluten Free Diet

SHARE
MavCure provides authentic and reliable information on Alternative and Natural Healthcare from the health experts.