Lentil, a member of legume family is high in fibre, protein, and are also a rich source of iron, calcium, vitamin B and phosphorus. Lentils are edible pulses that are obtained from a bushy plant. It is a type of bean and thus, are
Lentils are edible pulses that are obtained from a bushy plant. It is a type of bean and thus, are naturally gluten free, until and unless they are subject to contamination.
Gluten is a protein having two different components- gliadin and glutenin. It naturally occurs in grains like rye, wheat, bulgur, barley, triticale, and farina. There is evidence that it beneficially affects your blood pressure and even support healthy bacteria in your digestive system.
There is evidence that it beneficially affects your blood pressure and even support healthy bacteria in your digestive system.
This staple food of vegetarians is found in various varieties such as red, brown, green and yellow which are most commonly used for cooking. For a healthy lifestyle, you should make lentils a part of your daily meal plan.
For a healthy lifestyle, you should make lentils a part of your daily meal plan.
However, gluten containing lentils might pose problems for you as it is suspected to trigger or aggravate neurological disorders. Reports also have evidence that gluten contains an agent that can make you
Reports also have evidence that gluten contains an agent that can make you gluten addict. This will further lead to the unneeded addition of pounds to your body.
Besides all these, if you suffer from the celiac disorder or have irritable bowelsyndrome disorder or are gluten intolerant then you should eschew it from your diet asap as it may prove to be dreadfully harmful your health.
Cross-Contamination Of The Pulses May Occur Because Of Varied Reasons
- Contamination can take place right from the beginning as lentils are used in crop rotation. They are sowed on the same field of grain crops which contained gluten.
- Secondly, same tools are used for harvesting which may have traces of gluten from previous grain crops.
- To make it worse, lentils are stored in the same warehouse where grain crops (containing gluten) are kept.
As a result of this type of treatments, the lentils cannot be called gluten-free anymore.
To avoid accidental consumption of gluten-containing product always see the label and buy certified gluten-free lentils. Check for disclaimers which may tell you about the presence of traces of gluten in the packet.
Though most manufacturers follow the same inappropriate procedures as described above, there are some who are trying to provide you with gluten-free products.
They use special ways to process these lentils. Planting and harvesting are done with separate tools. Lentils are not used as a rotation crop and storing and packaging is done discretely.
Two Recommended Companies Which Can Provide You With Gluten-Free Products Are
This company has separate “allergen-free” warehousing building. It gets its sample tested for every lot of bean from an independent lab.
This company is certified by Gluten Free Certification Organization. It offers beans and other products too, all gluten free.
To prevent gluten contamination at home, you must be careful while using utensils. Always wash them before use. Thoroughly wash your hands before eating anything as it may have picked up traces of gluten from the gluten containing the product. Try using separate toaster and cutlery.
You May Also Like Reading:
Hence, now you can enjoy your gluten -free healthy diet without any worries.